Posted in English Poetry

Lost Friend

I have a friend
a guy friend who's close enough to be a boyfriend
an in between of brother and best friend

He makes me feel special
treats me like a lady when I am not ladylike
comforts me whenever darkness enclasp me

He strips off his armor
so I can see him emotionally naked
he allows my energy to lift him up when he's feeling down

We love each other with no malice
and I know I should be glad to have him as a friend
but I am not, for I am now abandoned

I am left with memories of his laughter and tears,
of his eyes that always turn into straight lines,
with idea of him talking to me about his dreams

I had a friend
a guy friend who is now far enough to be called a friend
an in between of memory and illusion.

Photo credit:http://enpundit.com/powerful-black-and-white-photography-by-benoit-courti/

 

Author:

I write in order to live

Leave a Reply

